Sunday, 22 October 2017

As it does every year, the youngest generation is rightly demanding its place in this weekend’s schedule. This year an intrepid project ensemble of celli and double basses will take on Michael Maierhof’s Minus 2.

You’ll also hear a sampler of what the participants were working on in last year’s Nadar Summer Academy.

More about MATRIX


Michael Maierhof – Minus 2 for 4 cellos and 4 double basses mit 8 fixierten und 80 schwingenden Objekten (2013)

Jennifer Walshe – A sensitive number for the laydeez (2004)

Jasper Braet & Jasper Vanpaemel – parts from Quakea Quartet (2013)

Eveline Vervliet - Proprius Capio (2017)


Michael Maierhof

Michael Maierhof is a German composer based in Hamburg. He studied mathematics and music in Kassel and art history and philosophy in Hamburg. Maierhof has been writing non-pitch organized music since the early nineties and working with instruments, objects, video, preparations, applications, oscillating systems and motors. He was an invited lecturer at Trinity College in Dublin, among others and has co-founded the “stock11” artist network.

Website Michael Maierhof


Naamsestraat 96
3000 3000 Leuven



H. Hartkliniek, Naamsestraat 102c


Lijnen 1 en 2
Halte H. Hartkliniek

Not on time?

Late-comers will not be admitted to the concert.