Friday, 20 October 2017

Transit will have a colourful opening this year, with works for large ensemble and soloists. It’s even an Italian-Flemish evening, neatly divided with two composers on each side.

The concert runs the gamut from the mischievous subtleties of the trumpet concerto Ballata no. 5 (2015) by Francesco Filidei to the dark but transcendent colour of Eppur si muove (2014), the last work Luc Brewaeys was commissioned to write by our festival. And the brand-new work by Bart Vanhecke, which will premiere here, promises to be just as dark, going from the title Pour que la nuit finisse and his choice of low-register instruments.


Luc Brewaeys

Luc Brewaeys (1959-2015) studied composition with André Laporte in Brussels, Franco Donatoni in Siena and with Brian Ferneyhough in Darmstadt. He met regularly with Iannis Xenakis in the early 1980s. He has won awards in Belgium and abroad, including the Prix de Musique Contemporaine du Québec for his complete oeuvre. Only recently, in 2013, the Flemish Classical Radio station Klara honoured him as Musician of the year.

Website Luc Brewaeys

Bart Vanhecke

Bart Vanhecke (1964) studied composition at the Koninklijk Muziekconservatorium (Royal Music Conservatory) of Brussels with André Laporte and at the Accademia Musicale Chigiana in Siena (Italy) with Franco Donatoni. In 2015, he successfully defended his PhD about the systematisation of atonality and dissonance in amotivic serial composition. He wrote compositions for various types of line up that are performed in Belgium and abroad.

Website Bart Vanhecke

Francesco Filidei

Born in Pisa in 1973, Francesco Filidei graduated from the Conservatory of Florence and the Paris Conservatoire. As organist and composer, he has been invited by the most important festivals of contemporary music, perfomed by renowned orchestras and ensembles. After obtaining a commission from the IRCAM Reading Committee in 2005, he was awarded the Salzburg Music Forderpreistrager (2006), the Takefu Prize (2007), the Siemens Forderpreistrager (2009), the UNESCO Picasso / Miró Medal of the Rostrum of Composers (2011), the Abbiati Prize (2015).

Website Francesco Filidei

Tiziano Manca

Born in Squinzano (Italy) in 1970, Tiziano Manca attended the Faculty of Philosophy and the Conservatory in Florence, studying Electronic Music and Composition by Romano Pezzati and Salvatore Sciarrino. His work includes both instrumental and vocal music in various formations (solo, voice and instruments, music theatre, choir a cappella). Tiziano Manca works currently as an artist researcher at the Orpheus Institute in Ghent.

Website Tiziano Manca



Over the past ten years the Antwerp based HERMESensemblehas been exploring and crossing the limits of contemporary music. Apart from creating contemporary repertoire and new music, the ensemble often works with video and multimedia, and prefers researching adventurous encounters with popular music, jazz and early music.

Website HERMESensemble


Naamsestraat 96
3000 3000 Leuven



H. Hartkliniek, Naamsestraat 102c


Lijnen 1 en 2
Halte H. Hartkliniek

Not on time?

Late-comers will not be admitted to the concert.