Sunday, 13 October 2019 | 10:00 | 30CC/Schouwburg

‘Free solo’ is a mountaineering term for the art of climbing a steep rock wall without any form of safety gear. This three-concert day is its musical equivalent. On the one hand are the six Suites for Cello Solo by Johann Sebastian Bach, the embodiment of musical simplicity and serenity. On the other hand are the fourteen Sequenzas by the Italian composer Luciano Berio, written between 1958 and 2002 for a diverse range of instruments. All of these pieces explore the outer limits, for both the instruments and performers. Come hear old and new, in a continuous dialogue between simplicity and complexity, heaven and earth, life and death. In short, you’ll have a dazzling musical adventure.

> 9:00-9:45 INTRO Ignace Bossuyt: Bach

> 10:00-12:30 CONCERT 1: Suites 2 & 4 / Sequenza's I-VI (flute - harp - female voice - piano - trombone - viola)

Promotional ticket of 45 euro if you also purchase tickets for CONCERT 2 and CONCERT 3 (excl. lunch).




Johann Sebastian Bach: Suites 2 & 4

Luciano Berio: Sequenza's I-VI (flute - harp - female voice - piano - trombone - viola)


Ignace Bossuyt, 9:00




Roel Dieltiens

Roel Dieltiens is once again gearing up to play all six Bach suites in one day. He is without a doubt one of the most gifted interpreters of these works. His authentic and intense playing, without posturing or flashiness, brings out the most profound qualities of the music.

Website Roel Dieltiens

New European Ensemble

For the formidable series of Sequenzas, the New European Ensemble will deploy an elite force of leading soloists, from flute, trombone and violin to alto sax, guitar and accordion, finally coming back full circle to... the cello!

Website New European Ensemble


Bondgenotenlaan 21
3000 Leuven



Ladeuze, Ladeuzeplein 20


Lijnen 1–9 / 284–85 / 315–17 / 333–35 / 337 / 351–52 /358 / 370–74 /380 / 395
Halte Rector De Somer plein

Not on time?

Late-comers will not be admitted to the concert.