Thursday, 20 October 2016 | 20:30 | Grote Aula Maria Theresia College

Leoš Janáček, Bohuslav Martinů and Pavel Haas all made their marks on the music of the Czech interbellum: Janáček by struggling in his own way with his late-Romantic roots, Haas with his Jewish background and fascination with jazz and folk music, and Martinů with his cosmopolitan desire to connect his musical heritage with western Europe’s innovative trends.

Although the Czech soul smoulders on in all three composers, the differences between them are unmistakeable. In Janáček’s Intimate Letters, the central theme is the (unrequited?) passion for his young muse Kamila Stösslová. Haas stirs up memories of a happy stay in the Moravian Highlands in his quartet. Martinů’s quartet has no particular programmatic connotations, but still captures the imagination with its scintillating rhythms and unusual sound colours.


Bohuslav Martinů: String Quartet nr. 3, H. 183 / Leoš Janáček: String Quartet nr. 2, ‘Intieme Brieven’ / Pavel Haas: String Quartet nr. 2, op. 7


Arne Herman, 19:45


Pavel Haas Quartet

The Pavel Haas Quartet is absolutely world class. No other string quartet performs Czech music with so much conviction as these four players. The joy they take in playing is tangible: frivolous and refined whenever possible, compelling and heart-rending when they have to be.

Website Pavel Haas Quartet

Grote Aula Maria Theresia College

Sint-Michielsstraat 6 (via Hogeschoolplein)
3000 Leuven



H. Hartkliniek, Naamsestraat 102c
Ladeuze, Ladeuzeplein 20


Lijnen 1 en 2
Halte Sint-Michielskerk

Not on time?

Late-comers will not be admitted to the concert.