Friday, 25 October 2019

Festival 20·21 doesn’t play a symphonic card every year, but for our 25th birthday we’d really like to pull out all the stops again. The Antwerp Symphony Orchestra will help us celebrate the occasion with an all-Finnish programme spanning the entire 20th century. They’ll start with the poetic flute concerto Aile du songe by Kaija Saariaho, a splendid piece full of scintillating sound and timbre shadings. They’ll follow it with Jean Sibelius’ powerful Fifth Symphony, truly a solid masterpiece.


Kaija Saariaho: Aile du songe

Jean Sibelius: Symfonie nr. 5

With the support of the Belgian Tax Shelter. Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter Empowered by Belfius.


Pieter Bergé, 19:45


Antwerp Symphony Orchestra

Antwerp Symphony Orchestra (formerly known as the Filharmonie), as thé symphonic orchestra of Flanders, aims to move and inspire as great an audience as possible with concert experiences of the highest level. They’ve visited renowned concert halls in Belgium and abroad. What you will notice, is the importance they attach to the contemporary classical repertoire – expect a performance of the very finest quality.

Website Antwerp Symphony Orchestra

Osmo Vänskä

For this Finnish programme, the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra is leaving nothing to chance. They’ll join up with the Finnish conductor Osmo Vänskä, considered one of the world’s foremost specialists in Scandinavian symphonic music. He even won a Grammy Award recently, for his interpretation of several Sibelius symphonies with the Minnesota Orchestra.

Website Osmo Vänska

Edith Van Dyck

The solo flute in Saariaho’s Aile du songe will be performed by Mechelen-born flutist Edith Van Dyck. Since she graduated as a Master in Tilburg and received a postgraduate diploma in performance at the Royal Academy of Music in London, she’s received various awards for her refined interpretations. She has been first flute at the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra since 2010.

Website Edith Van Dyck

Luca Campus Lemmens

Lemmensberg 3
3000 3000 Leuven


Not on time?

Late-comers will not be admitted to the concert.