Thursday, 6 October 2022 | 20:30 | 30CC/Schouwburg

TICKET SALES START 26.08.2022 10:00

The Hungarian composer György Kurtág is a man of few notes, as well as a master of restrained tension. 

Kafka-Fragmente is one of his most incredible compositions in both respects: spare in every way, even the text, but ever so expressive in its almost-painful fragility. There is an invisible abyss gaping behind the music and words throughout the entire work. This abyss is also the basis of Lise Bruyneel’s setting, in which Kafka’s sparely executed drawings play a remarkable part alongside his detached words.


György Kurtág: Kafka-Fragmente

INTRO (in Dutch)  Pieter Bergé - 19:45 


Wibert Aerts & Katrien Baerts

Wibert Aerts violin & Katrien Baerts soprano  – Lise Bruyneel video & Pieter Bergé concept

Kurtág’s music demands a lot from musicians: casually flawless technique, a generous dose of subtlety, and the ability to be fragile and firm at the same time. 

Soprano Katrien Baerts and violinist Wibert Aerts fit all these criteria perfectly. They’re a dream team, performing this gem from the 20th-century chamber repertoire for their first time. 

websites Katrien Baerts  Lise Bruyneel


Bondgenotenlaan 21
3000 Leuven



Ladeuze, Ladeuzeplein 20


Lijnen 1–9 / 284–85 / 315–17 / 333–35 / 337 / 351–52 /358 / 370–74 /380 / 395
Halte Rector De Somer plein

Not on time?

Late-comers will not be admitted to the concert.