Saturday, 23 October 2021 | 17:30 | STUK

Pianist Jan Michiels has selected works by Furrer, Sciarrino and Kurtág that connect with the world premiere Rispecchiato in Quarzo by Italian composer Osvaldo Coluccino. A grandiose work in which the electronics are a radiant extension of the sounds of the piano: sensual, poetic and massive – the 21st-century answer to Luigi Nono’s …sofferte onde serene… 

These new piano works have found a champion as virtuosic as he is sensitive in the person of Jan Michiels.


Osvaldo Coluccino: Rispecchiato in Quarzo (premiere)
Works by Beat Furrer, Salvatore Sciarrino and György Kurtág



Beat Furrer

Beat Furrer was born in Schaffhausen (Switzerland) in 1954 and received his first musical training on piano at the Music School there. In 1985 he founded the Klangforum Wien, which he directed until 1992, and with which he is still associated as conductor. Since the 1980s Beat Furrer has composed a wide range of works, from solo and ensemble music to orchestral and choral works and opera. He is well know for his nuanced exploration of the human voice and its relationship to instrumental sound.

Website Beat Furrer

Osvaldo Coluccino

Osvaldo Coluccino (1963) is an Italian composer and poet. His compositions have been commissioned by Venice Biennale, Milano Musica (Teatro alla Scala), RAI National Symphony Orchestra…, and have been performed in several festivals in various locations around the world (Festival de Royaumont, in co-production with IRCAM-Centre Pompidou, Paris, Guildhall School Of Music & Drama, London…) and in special spaces of art (Egyptian Museum in Turin, Museo del Novecento in Milan, Manifesta the european biennial of contemporary art, …).

Website Osvaldo Coluccino

Salvatore Sciarrino

Self-taught composer Salvatore Sciarrino (Palermo, 1947) started writing music at the age of twelve. There is something really particular that characterizes this music: it leads to a different way of listening, a global emotional realization, of reality as well as of one’s self. And after forty years, the extensive catalogue of Sciarrino’s compositions is still in a phase of surprising creative development.

Website Salvatore Sciarrino


Jan Michiels

Since beginning his artistic career, Jan Michiels has done everything possible to immerse his audiences in the richness of 20th- and 21st-century music, especially piano music. It's no surprise we love to welcome him at Festival 20·21. Last year, he performed Hindemith's complex Ludus Tonalis with compelling naturalness, which we will surely experience again in this program, which he has compiled around Osvaldo Coluccino's premiere, together with the composer.

Website Jan Michiels


Naamsestraat 96
3000 Leuven



H. Hartkliniek, Naamsestraat 102c


Lijnen 1 en 2
Halte H. Hartkliniek

Not on time?

Late-comers will not be admitted to the concert.