Saturday, 29 October 2016 | 14:00 | STUK

Michael Finnissy celebrated his 70th birthday in 2016, a fact we can’t let pass by at Transit, where two concerts will highlight new work by the English composer.

Faithful Transit attendees will remember pianist Ian Pace from his impressive marathon performance of Finnissy’s The History of Photography in Sound in 2001. This makes Pace the perfect performer as we set Finnissy’s new piece Beethoven’s Robin Adair next to works by Brian Ferneyhough and Luc Brewaeys, as well as music by the young generation represented here by Patricia de Almeida and Lauren Redhead.


Michael Finnissy, Lauren Redhead (premiere), Brian Ferneyhough, Luc Brewaeys, Patricia de Almeida


Pauline Driesen, 13:30


Luc Brewaeys

Luc Brewaeys (1959-2015) studied composition with André Laporte in Brussels, Franco Donatoni in Siena and with Brian Ferneyhough in Darmstadt. He met regularly with Iannis Xenakis in the early 1980s. He has won awards in Belgium and abroad, including the Prix de Musique Contemporaine du Québec for his complete oeuvre. Only recently, in 2013, the Flemish Classical Radio station Klara honoured him as Musician of the year.

Website Luc Brewaeys

Lauren Redhead

Lauren Redhead is a composer of experimental music, a performer of music for organ and electronics, and musicologist who focuses on the aesthetics as socio-semiotics of music. As a composer, Lauren’s music has been performed by international artists such as Ian Pace, the Nieuw Ensemble, Trio Atem, Philip Thomas, BL!NDMAN ensemble and rarescale.

full biography website

Brian Ferneyhough

Brian Ferneyhough wordt wereldwijd beschouwd als een van de belangrijkste levende componisten. Sinds het midden van de jaren 70, wanneer hij voor het eerst weids verspreide internationale erkenning kreeg, heeft zijn muziek hem een benijdenswaardige reputatie opgeleverd als een van de meest invloedrijke creatieve persoonlijkheden en muzikale denkers in het hedendaagse muzieklandschap.

Michael Finnissy

Composer Michael Finnissy (°1946) is concerned with the political aspects of music. He believes that all music is 'programmatic' to some degree, it exists within a culture that reflects both the extra-musical and purely musical concerns of the composer. It is a force for change. His engagement with political and social themes has become more prominent as his career progressed. Finnissy has taught at the Royal Academy of Music, the University of Sussex, and is currently Professor of composition at the University of Southampton.

Website Michael Finnissy

Patrícia de Almeida

Patrícia Sucena de Almeida studied Electroacoustic Music and Composition with Joao Pedro Oliveira at the Aveiro. She finished her Doctorate Degree at the University of Southhampton with Michael Finnissy in 2004. Between 2007-13 she developed a Postdoctoral project based on the interaction of music and other media, having created a new concept that characterizes works “combining” various means of artistic expression – Transversal Multi Art. (Photo: Bruno Pires)

volledige biografie website


Ian Pace

Ian Pace is a pianist of long-established reputation, specialising in the farthest reaches of musical modernism and transcendental virtuosity, as well as a writer and musicologist focusing on issues of performance, music and society and the avant-garde. He was born in Hartlepool, England in 1968, and studied at Chetham’s School of Music, The Queen’s College, Oxford and, as a Fulbright Scholar, at the Juilliard School in New York. His main teacher, and a major influence upon his work, was the Hungarian pianist György Sándor, a student of Bartók.


Naamsestraat 96
3000 Leuven



H. Hartkliniek, Naamsestraat 102c


Lijnen 1 en 2
Halte H. Hartkliniek

Not on time?

Late-comers will not be admitted to the concert.