Sunday, 20 October 2019

Following his previous Transit performance as a member of the Trio Accanto, this year we are once again proud to welcome Nicolas Hodges, this time for a solo recital. Few pianists can interpret the countless challenges and idiosyncrasies of the very newest piano repertoire in such an electrifying way as Hodges can. You’ll hear an exquisite selection of virtuoso works for piano, with or without electronics, by established and newer names, interspersed with excerpts from Peter Ablinger’s 21st-century classic Piano+Voice.


Rebecca Saunders / Marco Momi / Peter Ablinger / Yu Kuwabara (premiere) / Rolf Riehm / Georges Aperghis (premiere)


Peter Ablinger

Peter Ablinger was born in Schwanenstadt, Austria in 1959. He started studying graphic arts and later on completed his studies in composition with Gösta Neuwirth and Roman Haubenstock-Ramati in Graz and Vienna. Since 1982 he’s lived in Berlin, where he has initiated and conducted numerous festivals and concerts, and has also worked as a conductor and freelance musician. He is one of the few artists today who uses noise without any kind of symbolism, questioning the nature of sound, time and space, and his findings have jeopardized and made dubious conventions usually thought irrefutable. 

Website Peter Ablinger

Georges Aperghis

Georges Aperghis is a Greek composer born in Athens in 1945, he has lived and worked in Paris since 1963. His concert music includes a large series of instrument or vocal solo pieces (among them is his masterpiece Récitations, 1978), introducing theatrical elements here and there, sometimes purely gestural. His chamber music, either orchestral, vocal, or instrumental, is rich of many pieces composed for a wide variety of performing ensembles. His opera works, a third domain of activity, may be considered a synthesis of his musical theater and concert music; here, the text is the unifying and decisive element, and the singing voice is the main vector of expression. (Photo: Xavier Lambours)

full biography website

Rebecca Saunders

With her distinctive and intensely striking sonic language, Berlin-based British composer Rebecca Saunders (°1967) is a leading international representative of her generation. Born in London, she studied composition with Nigel Osborne in Edinburgh and Wolfgang Rihm in Karlsruhe. Saunders pursues an intense interest in the sculptural and spatial properties of organised sound. Her compositions have been recognised with numerous international prestigious awards, including the Ernst von Siemens Composers’ Prize, the ARD and the Paul Hindemith Prize. Her music has been published by Edition Peters since 1997.

Website Rebecca Saunders

Marco Momi

Marco Momi (°1978) studied piano, orchestral conducting and composition in Perugia, Strasbourg, The Hague, Rome, Darmstadt and Paris; from 2007 to 2010 he studied and worked at IRCAM in Paris. His music has been performed by the likes of Ensemble Intercontemporain, Klangforum Wien and Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart in festivals such as Musica Strasbourg, ManiFeste Paris and Warsaw Autumn. His works have been awarded in several competitions like Gaudeamus Music Prize and Impuls – Klangforum Wien. He’s been teaching in Italian Conservatories since 2008 and gives guest lectures throughout Europe. His music is published by Ricordi.

Website Marco Momi

Yu Kuwabara

Yu Kuwabara (°1984) is a Japanese composer living in Tokyo. She makes music to ask herself who she is through thorough research of traditional Japanese arts and music. Kuwabara completed her master’s degree at the Tokyo University of the Arts and has taken part in prestigious festivals, academies, and programmes for composers, including Darmstädter Ferienkurse, Lucerne Festival Academy Composer Seminar and Akademie Schloss Solitude. Her work has been performed by Ensemble Modern, Trio Accanto and others at major venues in Asia, Europe and the United States. Her scores are published by Edition Wunn.

Website Yu Kuwabara

Rolf Riehm

Rolf Riehm was born in Saarbrücken in 1937. He studied music in Frankfurt and in 1958 started his education in composition with Wolfgang Fortner in Freiburg. Riehm is co-founder of the Frankfurter Vereinigung für Musik and has taught at the Rheinische Musikschule in Cologne, where he was a member of “Gruppe 8”, a union of Cologne-based composers. Riehm is a quirky composer, involving a complex network of philosophical reflection, historical facts, myths, fairytales, memories, scientific arguments and other extremely personal musical ingredients into his composition practice – an gigantic palette of expressive possibilities.

Website Rolf Riehm


Nicolas Hodges

An active repertoire that encompasses such composers as Beethoven, Berg, Brahms, Debussy, Schubert and Stravinsky reinforces pianist Nicolas Hodges’ special prowess in contemporary music. As Tempo magazine has written: ‘Hodges is a refreshing artist; he plays the classics as if they were written yesterday, and what was written yesterday as if it were already a classic.’ The past season, he performed recitals at Wigmore Hall, among others, as a soloist with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. In a chamber music setting he often performs with musicians and ensembles such as the Arditti Quartet, Carolin Widmann and as a member of the Trio Accanto.

Website Nicolas Hodges


Naamsestraat 96
3000 3000 Leuven



H. Hartkliniek, Naamsestraat 102c


Lijnen 1 en 2
Halte H. Hartkliniek

Not on time?

Late-comers will not be admitted to the concert.